top of page
Writer's pictureJoReece Tupuola

Happy Veteran’s Day

Today is Veteran's Day and I would say our theme: Honor our Heroes, has been a success. As we end this week I can confidently say, we gained so much knowledge and appreciation through our lesson plan and events.

We started this theme on the Nov. 1, 2023 and had tons of fun making signs and cards for our veterans at our Toddlerschool Pop-up with our friends from Northshore Playgroup. We hope to host one of these every month, so if you'd like to join us at the next one please subscribe to our email list by scrolling to the bottom of our home page and filling in your email. To see some highlights from that day check out our reel.


I used the days leading up to our Veteran's Day Parade to go over our lesson plan: Honor our Heroes.


This is one of the worksheets provided with our lesson plan called, "Soldier Puzzle." I gave each my girls a page to color and worked one-on-one with them as they practiced using scissors. Side note: don't let your toddler know where you keep the scissors when they're not in use because they might find it and cut their long, beautiful, curly hair.

We called this activity "Camouflage Handprint Art." We didn't have brown paint so I had my oldest mix the colors orange and green to get brown. I let her play with the ratios so she could see that when we add different amounts of each color it affects the final color. By doing this, we added a science aspect to our art activity. My youngest just enjoyed the feeling (sensory) of the paint on her hands and went crazy slapping paint on the cardboard.

Here's a photo of our Patriotic Bottles or sensory bottles. These are my favorite because it's easy to throw together. Using an empty water bottle add water, food coloring, and manipulatives. That's it! We used red water and glitter in this one then made another other adding blue water, oil, and glitter. My girls preferred the one without oil.


On Friday, Nov 10, 2023, we had our Veteran's Day Parade with our friends from Northshore Playgroup. We marched down Malaekahana Bike Path until our littles had enough. We're already looking forward to next years parade so here's the unofficial announcement to mark your calendars! Check out our reel from our parade.


When everything comes together and I see that my child has gained knowledge, perspective, and appreciation from the effort put into our Toddlerschool, it encourages me to continue to provide these opportunities for my keiki; the icing on the cake is that now we have friends to enjoy these experiences with!

Comentarios


bottom of page