top of page
Writer's pictureJoReece Tupuola

Hoppy Easter!

Easter is the next Holiday and we are so excited to celebrate it. If it wasn't already obvious, this month's theme is Easter! In our Toddlerschool we learn about how we celebrate Easter culturally in America but also how we celebrate Easter as Christians. We will cover these lessons over the course of 2 weeks. The first week is dedicated to learning about the Easter Bunny and our traditions, the second week will be dedicated to learning about Jesus.


Easter Bunny

My girls love learning about the magic of the Easter Bunny. Leading up to Easter we do lots of crafts. If we have an event I like to use the crafts we worked on in our Toddlerschool as decorations. We've read the same Easter books for the passed few years and they never get old. Our favorite one is "How to Catch the Easter Bunny," by Adam Wallace. This year, I'll have my girls do a STEM project on making a trap to catch the Easter Bunny. I'm really excited to hear their ideas.


A few years ago I got these Easter blocks from target for $5. The girls painted them as one activity and after they dried I left them out for them to play with. We stacked them, played pretend, and used them as decorations at Easter Sunday Lunch. We still have a handful of these blocks and bring them out every year. I love that these projects add to our Easter lesson and celebrate year after year.


What's an Easter celebration without dying eggs? I saw several variations of dying eggs with baking soda and vinegar, so we had to try this. I dusted the eggs with the baking soda, then had the girls paint the eggs with food coloring. After they finished painting we poured vinegar over the eggs and watched it fizz. The girls enjoyed this so much we did them over and over again until we ran out of eggs.


One of the cooler sensory bins we had was this Easter one. We used pink rice and green macaroni as the base and added different tools to stuff the Easter eggs with. The girls enjoyed sorting, filling, and emptying the plastic eggs for hours.





Jesus

As a Christian when we celebrate Easter, we are celebrating the resurrection of Jesus Christ. We believe that Jesus died on the cross for our sins and rose again on the third day. I love telling my girls this story every year. As a 2 or 3 year old they only recall part of the story. My emphasis was on Jesus and who he was. As they get older and we revisit this story, the girls will understand more and more.


This little puzzle is so easy to make. I wrote "Jesus" on a craft stick and again on clothespins for the girls to match the letters on the clothespins to the ones on the craft stick. I wrote the letters in different colors so my toddler could use the colors to match as well. This not only helps with letter/color recognition but also fine motor skill development.


This was a fun science experiment about how Jesus cleanses us from our sins. We had a cup of water, food dye, and bleach. I explained that sometimes we sin or make mistakes and poured the red dye into the water. Then I told them to try and fix it by pouring more water in. Then I explained only Jesus can clean us and poured the bleach in the red water. after adding the bleach the red water started to change back.


I put together an Easter Packet for you to download and print out for your littles. This packet includes 15 worksheets thatʻll help with early literacy, pre-math, and fine motor skill development. It's free, so tell your family and friends to download it too. Thank you for joining us on our Toddlerschool journey. We'd love to hear how your Toddlerschool is going. You can do that by commenting below, sending us an email, or tagging us on social media. Don't forget to follow us on FB and IG where we share more of our day to day Toddlerschool activities, field trips, and projects. No matter what your journey looks like, make sure you're having fun with it!



Comments


bottom of page