top of page
Writer's pictureJoReece Tupuola

Toddlerschool Pop-up

Updated: Oct 22, 2023

It has been on my heart to do pop up workshops, but I was hesitant. I'm so grateful to Northshore Playgroup for allowing me to host a couple days where I got to experience what a pop-up workshop might feel like. Now, I'm considering doing one Toddlerschool Pop-up at least once a month.


Homeschooling my keiki has become my passion and my goal is to share my experiences with others. I hope these workshops will be an encouragement to parents who are interested in homeschooling their toddlers. This may be for the stay at home mom (SAHM) waiting for her littles to become of age for traditional school, or that dad concerned for his child's safety at school and would like to try homeschooling. Whatever your situation, I want to help build your confidence in schooling your toddler.

 

Here are some photos featuring some Toddlerschool Pop-up activities. This photo was taken 2 years ago when I started this journey, not knowing where God was leading me. I was thinking about opening a day care and did a trial run with my 2 girls and 2 nieces.



At our first pop-up we provided the keiki with a little notebook and crayons as a mahalo for joining us. My oldest loves to give gifts, so to see her automatically start handing these out as other keiki arrived, melted my heart. I'm so grateful to have the opportunity to share my Toddlerschool journey with others.





My girls were so excited to have school at the park with our friends from Northshore Playgroup. We prepared a lesson about fire trucks. We started with a siren freeze dance, then we talked briefly about fire trucks. Then we played a game I call, "Fire! Fire!," where we drew fire on the sidewalk with chalk and used homemade box fire trucks, and water bottles or water guns as our water hose to put out (wash off) the fire.




I love to plan field trips for my girls, so I was thrilled to plan a trip to our local fire station for our playgroup. Experiences like these are why I love to homeschool and why I'm so grateful for Northshore Playgroup. To read more about our visit, check out Field Trip: Fire Station or our reel






Our third time hosting playgroup we did another Toddlerschool pop-up where we learned about pumpkins. We started our lesson with a game called, "Walk around the pumpkin," where we walked, jumped, and ran around a pumpkin while singing a song. This helped us to get our wiggles out and get the keiki interested in pumpkins. Then we observed a pumpkin before our nature walk where we would add leaves, grass, or flowers to our pumpkin suncatchers. Check out our reel to see some of the fun we had.

 

Please join us at our next Toddlerschool Pop-up where we'll do a lesson with the keiki and I'll share more about our Toddlerschool journey and how we can help you start yours. For more information go to our Events tab.

Comments


bottom of page