top of page
Writer's pictureJoReece Tupuola

Halloween

It's spooky season and the scariest thing happened to me! I had a bunch of Halloween activities planned for my girls until the end of September-when my computer crashed. BOOOO! We ended up sticking to a pumpkin theme all month long and worked on our ABC's and 123's. Although I was bummed that I lost my work, my girls had some amazing progress with their alphabets and numbers.

 

This photo was from our playgroup that we absolutely love. We did a quick lesson on pumpkins then went on a nature walk and added flowers, leaves, and grass to our pumpkin sun-catchers. Here's a reel from our day at playgroup.






We made a pumpkin patch with the girls names using these pumpkins. Aside from spelling their names, we also learned our alphabets, numbers, and emotions. This is Elsie putting the pumpkins in alphabetical order.








We did an emotion activity using pumpkins. We had a 2 week lesson on emotions earlier in the year so this was just a single activity. Although, I think this would be a really great opportunity to expand on emotions with a whole lesson plan.






This was another playgroup activity where we painted pumpkins! Did we mention how much we love Northshore Playgroup?








Our field trip for the month was the Fall Festival at Kuilima Farms. There were so many fun activities for the keiki like pumpkin picking and painting, hay rides, a petting zoo, face painting, and a fire truck. There were also lots of food vendor and live entertainment. We enjoyed every minute. Here's a reel from our day at Fall Fest.




 

Sometimes things don't go as planned and we need to improvise; that is what I did for the whole month of October and I'm not mad about it. I hope that by sharing my trials, it can be an encouragement to you. Since I wasn't able to offer you guys a Halloween theme lesson plan I threw together some Halloween worksheets for you to download for FREE! Thank you for joining us on our Toddlerschool journey. No matter what your journey looks like, make sure you're having fun with it!




Comments


bottom of page