top of page
Writer's pictureJoReece Tupuola

Where do I start?

I've gotten this question a couple of times and I hope to at least point you in the right direction. I am not an expert when it comes to homeschooling; I share our journey in hopes it'll help or encourage someone else.


Now, to answer the question:

For me, I started with prayer and the Lord reminded me of Proverbs 22:6. This scripture in my foundation and why I homeschool. The way we raise our keiki and the values we instill in them play a huge role in how they contribute to society as adults.

"Train up a child the way he should go, so that when he is old he will not depart from it." Proverbs 22:6

Now, if you research how others started homeschooling, you'll find that the first step to getting started is establishing your "Why." Homeschooling can be difficult, so it's helpful to look back to the reason you started this journey. I recommend you don't skip this step. It takes a few minutes and makes a huge impact in the future.


Next we tackle- "How?"


Everyone's homeschooling style is different. The important part is that you find what works best for you and your keiki. Here are a few different teaching methods; explore each of them a little more to see how they fit in your homeschool.


  • Traditional/Textbook-

This approach is teacher directed with lesson plans that are laid out. This is easy for parents/teachers to execute and keep records of. You can purchase curriculum or you can make your own.

  • Unit Study-

This method allows you to teach according to the the keiki or 'ohana interests. Focus on a theme and incorporate curriculum into the theme. This is appropriate for multi-level teaching.

  • Charlotte Mason (living books)-

This teaching method puts an emphasis on real life situations and focuses on living books. A living book is a book that ignites curiosity on a subject by engaging the reader. I've seen 'ohana incorporate the Montessori Method into this approach.

  • Classical Approach-

There are 3 stages in the Classical Approach. First is the grammar stage which focuses on memorization through the elementary years. Second is the logic stage which focuses on logic and abstract thinking through the middle school years. The third stage is the rhetoric stage and focuses on expressing their own ideas through the high school years.

  • Unschooling Approach-

Unschooling follows the keiki's natural curiosity to learn. It is also called child-led learning. There is little lesson planning involved and this method focuses on real life experiences.

2 comentarios


Thank you for the info on where to get started. Recently I realized Ella could start in-person preschool soon if she was born closer to the start of the school year! That got me excited to start getting serious about homeschooling. The more I teach her and also the more I see how corrupted the school system is getting... the more sure I get that I want to homeschool.

Me gusta
JoReece Tupuola
JoReece Tupuola
17 dic 2023
Contestando a

Same here! I’m excited we get to do this homeschooling journey together.

Me gusta
bottom of page